Faith, Trust and a little Donut

Around a week ago, just when my birth month started, my faith and trust to the entire universe were tested. I lost my Sony Xperia Z cell phone.

In all the years since I first owned one, while my brothers and Dad keep getting theirs stolen or lost, I only lost mine once. It was just the extra phone I was using to have both Globe and Smart networks. It wasn’t my primary smartphone so I did not count that as something really major. Though I have to change that Globe number (which I have since college, I think) since friends keep complaining that they can’t call me through Globe and I was just using that as my Viber number. LOL.

Anyway, Ronnie and I were at the SM cinema that time, scheduled to watch The Breakup Playlist (hi Papa Pi! Haha) –on its second screening day. I was enjoying my Jollibee cheeseburger when Ronnie decided to change seats because the group beside us where noisy and started giving loud comments during the trailers. And so I just put the burger and fries back in the paper bag and in my bag, never minding to arrange them since I’d be continuing my dinner once we’re seated.

After finishing my jolly cheeseburger meal, I started fixing my stuff. I kept scrambling in my bag for my phone to put it in silent mode since the movie is just about to start. It was minutes before the Abs-cbn opening billboard started fading in the screen. After a few moments, I whispered to Ronnie, “nawawala ata ang cellphone ko.” And so he stood up and went back to the row where we first sat and tried to check the ground since there are people already seated. I was also checking our own row and the spaces around my chair, but we didn’t find it.

As Trixie and Gino appeared on the screen, Ronnie asked, “kinakabahan ka na ba?” coz we were thinking that it was just somewhere inside my bag and I just couldn’t see. I answered with not yet and said we just continue to watch the movie since it has to be just somewhere here.

After the movie ended and the lights went back on, I checked my bag once again and declared it’s not there. So we started looking under the chairs and even asked the security guard to borrow his flashlight and help us look. But it wasn’t there. We reported it again at the guard outside the cinema. But since my other phone doesn’t have load and the mall was closing already and the concierge doesn’t have cell cards any more, we went home. Told Ronnie, I’ll just locate it using the Sony locate app.

After receiving load from home (LOL. Had to call home for immediate reinforcements), tried calling the phone to see if it’s still alive. It still has 39% batt when I last held it and my mobile data is on. So Dad and I were trying to locate it using different methods (Google: “Where is my phone?”) haha. We also initiated phone wipe out already (also through google, android manager)—which would erase all phone data once it’s turned on completely. After I think around an hour, Dad called saying he talked to someone holding my phone.

Fast forward, we got in touch with Ghel who agreed to meet up the day after in Megamall. Turned out to be a friendly and sweet lady who we invited over to have dinner with us to get to know her more.

Lost phone. Found phone. Gained a friend. Thank you, Ghel for keeping Zee safe and sound last night. Your kindness is just humbling. It was a test of complete trust and faith that only His best will happen. Thank You!!!!

Lost phone. Found phone. Gained a friend. Thank you, Ghel for keeping Zee safe and sound last night. Your kindness is just humbling. It was a test of complete trust and faith that only His best will happen. Thank You!!!!

Ghel and Ronnie

A simple token to say thanks. Turned out she was craving for donuts the entire week!

Thank you, Lord, for showing me that the world is not full of bad people and that a random stranger can still make a difference in my life. It is with trust and faith that we let the best things happen. 🙂

#faithinhumanityrestored

Leave a Reply

